Good afternoon!

I hope you all had a wonderful Christmas. One of the great parts of my Christmas was the fact that I had finally finished reading through my manuscript!! I finished it on Christmas Eve, and it gave me such a delightful feeling of happiness. (: And it’s funny because I’m fairly certain this was the first time I have read my story through from beginning to end since I finished writing it. Crazy stuff.

Alrighty, now for a question. This one is again from Sarah Kathryn! (:

Question: When did you begin writing your first book, Mark of the Corripian?

Answer: As usual, I will give a short answer and a more detailed answer. So, here is the short answer: March 29, 2011 and November 19, 2011.

At this point you’re probably thinking I’m very confused because I just gave you two different dates, and there can only be one true date in which I began writing my book… Well, you’re right. But, that’s not exactly how I see it. Because in March I was merely messing around on the computer out of pure boredom (I was actually supposed to be typing up my research paper), and a story began to form. At that point, though, my characters really didn’t have personalities; they only had names. I had a storyline, but really no plot, no reason for writing. I just wrote a bunch of stuff that kept me entertained. I was also writing for a few of my friends, who love to read. I would give them a few pages of my story as I wrote, and they would read it and tell me how much they liked it. Nothing serious. And actually, before this point, I was never into writing. I had never attempted to write a manuscript (nor did I even really know what the term “manuscript” really meant), and I had no idea how to formulate a proper storyline with an interesting plot and memorable characters. But as I continued writing, I realized that I actually enjoyed it and I decided that I WAS going to finish this idea. However long it would take me.

Now, onto November. Nearly eight months later, I decided that I was going to get serious. I scrapped EVERYTHING. Literally. I went back to the story, read a chapter, deleted the whole thing, wrote something different, then continued on. To help you to understand what a big change I made, I will say that the original version was in the POV of Zenia Curser and ONLY Zenia Curser. Xavier was in the story, but he was more of a supporting character. It’s crazy for me to even think about a time when Xavier was not a protagonist because his part is so important now. Anywho, I had to write in his chapters, which I found to be even easier than writing Zenia’s because it is far easier for me to relate to him. I began to develop an intricate plot (at times it seems almost too intricate…) and began to truly give my characters personalities and, essentially, meanings. I began doing research on different subjects so that the story would be more believable. I went all out. For instance, Xavier has a motorcycle in the story and I’d never actually been on one, so I decided to take a ride with a family friend (so fun!). Aside from that, I started boxing in order to understand a little better about combat situations (though it turns out I prefer to hit the speed bag versus an actual person), and I’ve asked a surgeon what he would do in certain circumstances in which a person was injured a certain way (asking a real live person is SO much more viable than using the internet).

After I became serious, I wrote A LOT. I remember during Christmas break of 2011 I would wake up, grab some cereal, and eat it while typing on the computer. All I would do was write, only getting up to eat (usually breakfast and dinner). In about eight to ten days I was able to write approximately 50,000 words. Sadly, most of those I cut out because I had another plot change in February/March. It wasn’t nearly as major as the November change, so I don’t really count it as ‘beginning my book.’

With all that said, there were many weeks in which I wouldn’t write, either because I was too busy with work/school, or because I just didn’t know WHAT to write. (It wasn’t writer’s block. It wasn’t. Don’t say it was because it wasn’t!) But, somehow I managed to finish my book in July. It made me quite delighted, indeed. (:

I was actually planning to answer a second question today, but that was a really long response, so I will save you from more of my rambling. (;

I hope you all enjoyed the post and have a wonderful week. Oh! And a great New Year!!

And before I go, I’d like to give a shout-out to Virginia Dyer, one of my very first fans (thanks for listening to me babble about the book for like five hundred hours). You are awesome and I love you so much! :3

Farewell to all,

B.H. Parker

“Whatever you do, work at it with all your heart, as working for the Lord, not for men, since you know that you will receive an inheritance from the Lord as a reward. It is the Lord Christ you are serving.” -Colossians 3:23-24 (NIV)

P.S: Lookie, lookie!! Some of my fantastic Christmas presents! (:

I love words... So much.

I love words… So much.

New Otter Box

Got it at Books A Million–one of my favorite stores!

My rainbow of Sharpies!!

My rainbow of Sharpies!!